Teenage Dating ~ Why Doesn’t My Mother Like You?

TeenageDating

Sometimes being a parent really has it’s moments.  Especially when those moments are being a step-parent to a teenage boy.

My teenage son recently got a girlfriend.

And they have gotten pretty serious.

Serious enough that he spends most of his free time at their house.  Her parents have grown to love him…as they should…he’s a great kid.  I wish I could say I had the same liking for their daughter.  But how are you supposed to get to know someone if they already assume that you don’t like them and then never come over to even find out?

When they first got together, she would come over here.  She would lay on the couch snuggled with him and then proceed to “make-out” in front of my other kids.  OOOOH what’s not to like?  My son also came home from HER house with hickeys on his neck one day and she came for a visit sporting a scarf and it was 90 fucking degrees outside.  That was the end of laying on the couch snuggled next to one another at my house.  I was under the impression that her parents were a bit on the strict side as well.  When I asked my son if they were allowed to lay on the couch and make-out at her house he said they weren’t.  Well then why would they both assume that was kosher at mine. And please tell me why my son came home from their house with hickeys on his neck?

Did I mention that they are 15.  She just turned 15.

Yes.  Call me old fashioned…I don’t care…I call it being a parent.

Apparently she does not.  She now thinks that because I have strict polices about what goes on in my house that I don’t like her.  Please tell me what reason she has given me for me to like her?

Maybe it was the time we ran into her at the shopping mall and all she could say was “My dad’s going to buy me this and my dad is going to buy me that”…as if somehow I gave a shit.  All that tells me is that she’s spoiled.  Being spoiled is one thing…shoving it in others faces is just being tasteless.  Still in the back of my head I try to remember that she is young and thinks she knows everything.

Am I being too harsh?

Is it wrong, as a mother, step-mother, a parent to think this way?

I have thought about trying to sit down and have a conversation with her but at this point I just feel like it would be a waste of my time.  I’m not trying to impress her…it’s the other way around.  I am not a friend…I am a parent…who doesn’t need to be a grandparent anytime soon!  I have rules.  His father and I try and run a tight ship around here and because of it he is a good student, a good athlete, and obviously a good enough kid that he is welcomed to their house.  We are strict but as long as he does what he is supposed to do then his freedom to do what he wants in his free time, is his.

Being a parent to teenagers who are dating is so different than when I was a teenager.  I see it in social media EVERY DAMN DAY!  What do you do to keep your teen from becoming a statistic?

Housewife Chronicles Signature

My Kid Doesn't Poop Rainbows
Absolutely Prabulous
12 thoughts on “Teenage Dating ~ Why Doesn’t My Mother Like You?

    1. I have 2 daughters as well and yes…the thought of their teenage years terrifies me. Especially the memories of being a teenage girl myself. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment.

      Like

  1. So most of the blogs I read are by very young/first time mums who are in the baby not sleeping/teething/etc phase. Then there’s this… So I’m in the halfway house between the two as my eldest is ‘only’ 11. But oh yes…I do know, it’s coming soon. I wish had advice for you but frankly it sounds like you’re doing a great job raising him and there really isn’t much you can to do any different I guess. The line about grandparents…is it bad that I laughed?
    Thanks for linking to #BabyBrainMonday

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not at all…I love that it made you laugh. I am seriously not ready to be a grandparent. He is just way too young and babies are fabulous but one should live some life first.

      Like

    1. That’s exactly how I feel…I am the Queen of my household. And I am not out to impress her in any way. I am not the mother who never likes girlfriends…my other teenage son had a girlfriend that I absolutely adored…still do…wish there were more teenage girls like her because she is confident and leads a life of her own and not one drawn by a boy. But there are very few teenage girls these days like that…at least what I am experiencing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

