Oh Mother Where Art Thou?

stock-photo-51438208-scream.jpg

I am at the gym today just going about my workout…in a fabulous and full of energy mood actually, when my phone shuts off my pandora music and starts to alert me that someone is calling.

It’s my mother.

And I know the only reason she was calling is because she has read my blog post that morning and was feeling guilty that she has pretty much been an absentee mother my entire life and now is doing the same with her grandchildren.

I had written a blog post that morning (on another blog that I write on) about the fact that my husband and I pretty much have no support from any of our parents when it comes to our kids.

My husband doesn’t have a dad, my dad is too much of a playboy that I don’t think I would trust the care of my children to him, my husband’s mom lives 6 hours away and can’t afford to take time off from work, but as for my mom…well my mom is retired…lives 5 hours away…it takes one freeway for her to get here…and yet she has only been here once this year and that was to bring my nephew for a visit so that my brother and his wife could take a week to Vegas.

Now…let me back up to earlier in the year when I had asked my mom if she could please come stay with the kids for a couple nights, during my husband’s time off, so that him and I could go have a couple nigh to ourselves, to celebrate our anniversary, in the city which is 2 hours away.  She said she would look at her schedule and get back to me.  Next thing I know she’s headed out with my nephew during a time that my husband had to work the entire time she was going to be here.

Therefore, once again, as she always does…she catered to my brother.  My brother has always been her favorite.  And personally I don’t really care that he has always been her favorite….I also have a sister that would be her second choice.  Funny thing is I am her first born but she has always relied on me pretty to much deal with everything and anything on my own.  Even though she begged me for years to have children.  Even going as far as to make snide comments about the only reason I didn’t want to have kids is because I was so vain about my body.  I never did tell her that I was told by a doctor that I would have to take fertility drugs in order to conceive.  I figured fuck her and her ignorant comments she doesn’t need to know.

So now I know that she is going to call and try to make up for the fact that she never did make it out here and I never did ask her again.  I asked her once and she should know that I never ask for anything unless I really need it.  I have never asked for anything from that woman since the first time I got a job babysitting and doing a paper route at the age of 14.

I even paid her rent while I was a senior in high school.

There’s a long story that goes along with my mother that I will save for another blog post, but I hate the fact that she pretty much ruined my day by calling me (she hasn’t called me in months) and now I really don’t want to call her back because I know that it’s just going to turn into me being snide and telling her that I don’t need her pity.

**Stares at bottle of wine sitting on the counter and contemplates gathering up some liquid courage**

Housewife Chronicles Signature

 

 

3 thoughts on “Oh Mother Where Art Thou?

Leave a Reply

